Recipes - Chicken · Tex-Mex

Creamy Chipotle Enchiladas

If you’re from Texas, or have ever visited here, you know that we love our Tex-Mex food. Chips & salsa, crispy tacos, queso, rice & beans, fajitas, & one of my favorites… Enchiladas.

I mean, you almost can’t go wrong with whatever kind you choose. Tortillas wrapped around your choice of filling, smothered in yummy sauce & gooey cheese. Yum. I bet you can taste them now, can’t you? If you’re from somewhere that doesn’t have a good place to get some of these amazing creations, first let me say, “I’m sorry.” Seriously. You’re missing out… But I can help!

I came up with this recipe this morning, & when we sat down to eat, I was super excited. In Texas, you can get some good Tex-Mex food… if you know where to look. I have also been to some places that didn’t quite make it to my list of “Mmmm… this is Tex-Mex.” I have had some enchiladas that were dry, almost cheese-less (come on, they are enchiladas!), & basically  flavorless. I took one bite of these, & decided they were on my top 3 best enchiladas list, easily. I’m not just tooting my own horn, I promise. Try them. You’ll agree! Just look at them!

PSX_20170321_145053

Cheesy? Yep.

Saucy? Uh-huh!

Full of flavor? Oh yeah!

The whole enchilada. =)

Ok, let’s get down to it… here’s your ingredients:

  • corn tortillas – 12
  • shredded chicken – 2 cups
  • shredded cheese (I used cheddar & monterey jack) – 2 cups
  • tomato sauce – 1  15oz. can
  • 2 chipotle peppers + 2 Tbsp adobo sauce (the sauce they are canned in) *I had these left over from my Honey-Chipotle Chicken Crispers
  • cream cheese – 4 oz
  • chicken broth – 1/4 cup
  • sour cream – 2 Tbsp.
  • sugar – 1 Tbsp
  • garlic powder – 1 tsp.
  • onion powder – 1 tsp. (you could totally use fresh garlic & onion… my hubby is just not a fan of the texture, so I always use powdered.)
  • dried oregano – 1/4 tsp.
  • chili powder – 1/4 tsp.
  • cumin – 1 tsp.

Preheat oven to 350 °

Prepare your chicken. You could use some leftover chicken, or use a rotisserie chicken from the grocery store. I had a large chicken breast in the freezer, so I that’s what I used. Dark meat would be great in this too!

Place the chicken in a large pot, & add just enough water to cover it. Season generously with salt & pepper.

PSX_20170321_144108

Bring to a boil. Once it hits a good rolling boil, cover it & reduce the heat to low. Simmer on low heat for 15 minutes. After 15 minutes, turn off the heat. Let it sit for another 15 minutes before removing the lid. The chicken will continue to cook in the residual heat & steam. I have found that this is the best way to cook chicken before shredding it. It doesn’t dry out, & pulls apart easily.

Transfer the chicken to a plate or cutting board & allow it to cool for a few minutes. Shred the chicken with 2 forks, or you can just do it with your fingers. (Make sure it has cooled enough first!)

PSX_20170321_144255

Shredded, juicy goodness.

PSX_20170321_144531

Shredded, cheesy goodness! 😉 You don’t need me to tell you how to shred cheese… but doesn’t it look tasty?

In a blender or food processor, add 2 chipotle peppers, 2 Tbsp. of the adobo sauce, 1/4 cup chicken broth, & half of your tomato sauce. Blend until smooth. (You could skip this step if you have an immersion blender, which I am currently not lucky enough to own.)

Transfer your blended mixture to a large saucepan or deep skillet, along with the rest of your tomato sauce. Add in your cream cheese, sour cream, sugar, & spices. Season with salt & pepper to taste.

PSX_20170321_144640

Simmer while stirring, until the cream cheese has melted & the sauce has a smooth texture. (It’s okay if there are a few lumps, as the rest of the cream cheese will melt in the oven.) Take off the heat.

Spread about 3/4 cup of the sauce on the bottom of a 9×13 glass baking dish. This will keep the tortillas from sticking during cooking.

PSX_20170321_144737

Toss the chicken with enough sauce to coat, about 2-3 Tbsp. Season with salt & pepper to taste.

Working with 4 at a time, microwave your tortillas for 20 seconds. This way, they are pliable & won’t crumble easily. Place a few Tbsp of chicken & cheese to the center of your tortillas. Roll them up & place them seam-side down in your baking dish.

PSX_20170321_144830

Cover your enchiladas with the rest of that delicious sauce.

PSX_20170321_144926

Sprinkle with the leftover cheese.

PSX_20170321_145004

Cover with foil (make sure it isn’t touching the cheese – it’ll rip all the goodness right off when it’s done!) & put on the middle rack of the oven. Cook for 20 minutes. Remove the foil & cook another 10 minutes, until bubbly & melty.

PSX_20170321_145053

Are you drooling yet? I am, & I already ate these today! Haha.

Let them cool about 5 minutes. If desired, top with shredded lettuce, sour cream, chopped tomatoes, avocado, & onion. Serve with rice & beans, & you’ve got one delicious Tex-Mex favorite!

PSX_20170321_145200

Enjoy! Let me know what you think!
lovejess

//assets.pinterest.com/js/pinit.js

Leave a Reply

